Parks & Recreation: Season 1, Episodes 1 & 2

EPISODE 1:
“It’s a great time to be a woman in politics! I like to tell people get on board, buckle up, and if you get motion sickness… put your head between your knees, because Leslie Knope is stopping for no one.”Leslie’s excitement for local politics is almost infectious, and I found myself rooting for her to pick up steam with her parks project as the episode(s) go on.

I love how enthusiastic she is about government. And I love that at a certain point, she got fed up with trying to be helpful and decided it was time to get the drunk out of the slide.Women in government often struggle with that line of being nice and helpful and being strong and powerful, and it feels like Leslie has a pretty solid grasp on when to kick into which mode.

The character of Ann is fantastic. I love that the whole series starts off with a partnership between two women acting out of concern for their town. And I love that she calls Tom out on hitting on her.I do wish she was a little less wishy-washy in terms of her relationship with Andy at this point in the series.

Leslie’s excitement about a new project and ability to be optimistic is awesome. Mark’s quote of “I lost my enthusiasm for govenment work after 6 weeks. Leslie’s held hers for 6 years.” really tells you everything you need to know about Leslie and her love for Pawnee and politics.

A few choice quotes:

“What’s up Brandanawitz! You crazy old…. POLISH PERSON!”

“Dream with me for a second, Ann.”

—-

I love Leslie’s mom. She’s powerful and in charge, and, as Leslie puts it, “she’s my hero. How do I explain her? She’s as respected as Mother Theresa, as powerful as Stalin, and as beautiful as Margaret Thatcher.”

Leslie’s enthusiasm for the park is great, and her misguided attempts to convince people of how awesome her park will be are hilarious and endearing. Something I really love this show is that there is heart behind every joke and misstep, something that was seriously lacking in Whitney. You root for Leslie to move on in government and politics, and you feel the (albeit hilarious) pain behind when she blurts out something like “if you don’t care about this park you don’t care about your kids” and how much that’ll set her back in her goals.

Basically, this show is awesome. What were your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

